Some Acedemic Consideration

by thesilverhorde

So this year I finished my degree. I’m really proud of the work I’ve done this year. It’s been difficult, but I got through in the end. Now I’m officially a postgraduate and I’ll be starting with my masters in February.

One thing I’m very proud of is my thesis. The title (in English) is ‘The influence of power on the position of the Other: A philosophical-ecclesiastical perspective’. Which is a mouthful, but it’s basically about how society marginalizes  the Other. Wherein the Other could be anybody outside society’s idea of what’s right or normal.  I relied heavily on the ideas of Foucault, Levinas and Derrida.

I guess, if I’m really honest, the reason I chose this topic is because I’ve always felt like an outsider. I’ve never felt particularly normal or considered myself the epitome of society’s expectations.

