The vice of my generation

by thesilverhorde

Lately I’ve thought a lot about the emotion of shame: Synonyms :mortification/ compunction/degradation/humiliation/disconcert/contrition/irritation

–noun

1.the painful feeling arising from the consciousness of something dishonorable, improper, ridiculous, etc., done by oneself or another: She was overcome with shame.

2.susceptibility to this feeling: to be without shame.

3.disgrace; ignominy: His actions brought shame upon his parents.

In short, it’s a horrible feeling. It’s definitely in my top 3 worst emotions. When I was a teenager I was constantly feeling ashamed about something. My parents where usually the source of it – so I guess that’s normal.

Nietzsche said the most humane thing to do is to spare someone shame. In Biblical times, and even now in some cultures and religions,  Honour is very high esteemed. If you have a good name, then you have a good position in the community. If not, you are ostracized. So, the expression to defend your honour ,takes on a more serious meaning.

I watched Easy A  a few days ago and it actually surprised me! It raised a few questions, I think. Must we conform, blend in and be part of the group? Or should we shun ‘mainstream’ and be outcasts? Though the movie may have focused a bit more on the need of my generation to be cool, to be part of the group. Instead of recognizing individualism.

The movie also illustrated the negative side of social media. The speed with which we can share information is astounding. That makes us careless with what we actually share. It cheapens information.