The Wisdom of Terry Pratchett

by thesilverhorde

For this entry I will first enter two very wise things the Author Terry Pratchett said;

An education was a bit like a communicable sexual
disease. It made you unsuitable for a lot of jobs and then you had the urge to
pass it on.

And;

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was
bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was
anyone’s fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I’m one of Us. I
must be. I’ve certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever
thinks of themselves as one of Them. We’re always one of Us. It’s Them that do
the bad things.

These two quotations come out of his books Hogfather and Jingo, respectively, and they illustrate why Terry Pratchett is a brilliant author. He is funny,a philosopher, economist, social and political critic and has managed to write about above mentioned things in young adult/ children books. I wish I started reading his work earlier – it would have greatly added to my character development.

Now, the point about those two quotations is – first, there is always someone who has said something better than you ever will. Secondly I want to talk about education and people’s habit of not accepting responsibility.

I am now in my second year of studies at the University of Pretoria. Now, after the customary 12 years at school and one and a half-year of tertiary education – it’s only recently that I have felt I have actually learned something. It’s only recently that I have developed a consciousness of the world and myself. It’s only recently that I have felt the stirrings of enlightenment but in the same breath I have realised how very little I do know. It’s actually outrageous that it has happened so late. To make it even worse – a lot of people do not ever experience it. They are in Plato’s cave and see only the shadows against the wall. They trudge through life with this ignorant arrogance.

With this then, comes the duty of  trying your utmost to be a positive thing in this world and to take responsibility for your actions.

Photo of the day, Careful where you stand by Paintmewet on deviantart.com

